Posted by: april may | October 17, 2010

Playing the tourist…

Despite the title of this post, I wasn’t actually playing. I was a tourist this past Friday when I visited Charleston, SC for the first time. I don’t have the pictures right now, but I’m super excited about putting them up on Facebook so everyone can see them. 😀 I think they’re pretty awesome….but we’ll see how they turn out.

So anyway, I went to Charleston with my friend Liz and it was absolutely amazing! So beautiful and so much history. It was all in all a perfect way to spend part of my fall break. We went down for the day and stayed at her aunt’s house that night (which was a blessing in itself because we didn’t have to pay for a hotel room on top of gas :-)). We went to visitors center and I got pictures of the different languages on the walls. Then we headed out to Waterfront park and tried to visit the museum out there but it was closed. (sad day :-() Then we almost got lost trying to get down to the battery and drove down rainbow row without even knowing it to start with 😀 (good job Liz!). I got some cute souvenirs and took lots of pictures of these awesome dolphins following this fishing boat (this was probably my second favorite part of the trip, the first mentioned later on the beach). We took some super interesting pictures in that park, too. One of the statues was censored…it was pretty funny when I realized it because I kinda thought he was naked at first…thank goodness he wasn’t. Anyway, I walked down Rainbow Row and took lots of pictures of the old houses for my mom (because she loves them) and just really enjoyed the scenery. Then we had lunch at a Charleston exclusive restaurant…Moe’s (j/k we really did eat there, but obviously it’s not just in Charleston). Next, we gave Liz a first time experience by hitting up the Apple Store and updating our Facebook statuses from there…we also wrote on someone else’s wall because they left their profile signed in (tehe!). We hung out on the Mount Pleasant Pier for a bit and almost died because this can shot off the bridge right above our heads!!! Totally freaked us out! But we survived.

To end our evening, we watched the sunset on the beach. Now these are pretty wonderful anyway, but some of my best conversations/worship times with God have been on beaches, so it was really special to me. Things have been rough lately and I was really refreshed from that few minutes on the beach (not to mention the joy of the beautiful sunset :-D). During this time, I decided to call my mom and see if she could hear the waves…she couldn’t, but my dad told me he hoped it was cold and my toes froze off because they were supposed to go to the beach the weekend before and couldn’t…he was just jealous :-). Then, I called my grandma and found out she set me up on a blind date. Of all the people to do that, I never suspected her…but she seems to like him so we’ll see what happens over Christmas break! 🙂

Now, as usual for trips like this, we went to walmart! 😀 Always a necessary stop…..while we were there, I bought How to Train Your Dragon…which turned out to be a super cute movie and a very good choice. I was pretty excited about it!

We finally made it back to her aunt’s house and after watching my purchase, I slept for NINE hours….marvelous!!! 😀 The next morning we stopped by the Charles Pickney House and took a few more super cool pictures. We tried to stop at a plantation but they wanted $17.50 per adult….I said they were crazy and turned around right quick. Then back to home!

Overall I was very satisfied with the trip and was so glad Liz suggested it! 🙂 I enjoyed the sights and the fun but most of all I was reminded that I really needed a break and God was more than willing to let me take the day to just rest in him and enjoy having a bit of fun away from school.

Thanks Lord for an amazingly restful and enjoyable time exploring your creation and adventuring with a friend.

Love from Jesus,

April <><


Leave a comment

Categories